2
Say, you know our former fave, old white T-shirt?

1
Yes, the one that has some holes and isn’t even close to white anymore, bleach or not so much.

2
Yes’s, that one is kind of muerto, fini, kaput, dead. We had to buy two new ones today at the dollar store. I was shocked. Shocked, I say.

1
Why is that?

2
It’s the same brand that big huge store sells. You know, THEM!

1
Well, yes. It’s not a store brand, you know. And, it’s not always cheaper, though they like to pretend.

2
So it’s like a fairy tale?

1
Yes, that’s what advertising is, a modern-day fairy tale, told in 15, 30 or 60 seconds except there is no moral at the end. On Al Gore’s internet too! Remember after we bought our camera we had lots of camera ads, like we were going to buy a Fuji because we bought a Sony sort of thing. Eventually we switched targeted ads off. Hahaha on them.

2
I like fairy tales, really. But, OK, so it’s like this, we should want less and be content? That’s practically un-American, don’t you know? It’s, it’s kind of Eastern!!! or something. Most definitely un-American!!  Yes, I am sure it is.

1
Well, no, not really. It’s more, uh, let me think. (thinking, thinking, etc.)
OK, I guess since we revolted because England would not let us compete in shipping, I think you are right. Our entire framework is based on freedom of business. Pursuit of happiness does not mean ‘Fight For Your Right To Party’.

2
Are you sure? I mean, it sounds like it should mean exactly that!

1
Nah, if one were to read the Federalist Papers there is a mention somewhere how that is the freedom to pursue business which is what ‘happiness’ is.

2
Wow! That is be-weird! I think I like the right to party better, you know, even though our party days are long since over, if you get my drift.

1
Yes, I get that, but still and all everyone knows how to party- and you like the version of that song by the Dresden Dolls, though language is kind of an issue in their video.

2
Um, yes, yes it is. We can just say ‘WARNING – SOME BAD LANGUAGE’ and everyone will find out if they listen.

